Fashion But Make It Barefoot – November 2020

*Disclosure – Anya’s Reviews is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no additional cost to you. We do not do sponsored content or place ads on our site.

One of my all time favorite things to do is recreate amazing looks with barefoot shoes. I’ve never been one to settle, so why not look amazing in healthy shoes? I share a new “Fashion, But Make it Barefoot” photo every Friday on Instagram and Facebook, and here is a round up of posts from November 2020! Scroll to see the inspo and shop the shoes.

Click here for the other Fashion, But Make it Barefoot roundups.

November 6, 2020

The Zaqq Riquet | $210 | Leather | Ships from Germany

You can now buy The Zaqq Riquet from Anya’s Shop for US/Canadian customers with free shipping and returns!

Today’s fashion inspiration comes from Ms Kristine of Trendy Curvy. She is one of the most stunningly radiant faces to light up my feed and I am obsessed with her style. But she wears a LOT of high heels. So I wanted to see if I could keep her classy look but swap out the high heels for a completely flat version.

Barefoot shoe wearers rejoice! You can look dressy and trendy and still be good to your feet! These are the Riquet boot from Zaqq Barefoot, and they are one of my faves. See how Kristine’s boots are cut close to her ankle? IMO this is the key to keeping a classy look and what I always look for in my dressy barefoot boots.

If you’re interested in Zaqq, be sure to read the review linked above. And while you’re at it, here is a full list of barefoot boots for lots of other options!

November 13, 2020

The Vivobarefoot Fulham | $210 | Leather

It’s Friday, and you know what that means… Fashion Friday #butmakeitbarefoot!

Before I switched to minimalist shoes I was always on the hunt for the perfect ankle boot. As you probably know, a “normal” ankle boot you’ll find at your local store is not going to be comfortable (pinched toes much?).

But I kept a pair that I considered a compromise for special occasions just like the shoes on the left. I mean, I had to have ankle boots, right? It was THOSE DAMNED BOOTS that I wore to my birthday dinner almost 5 years ago and that sent me down a spiral of pain and dysfunction. Of course I was already on that path, but THE SHOES tipped me over the edge.

I still love my ankle boots! If you’re having visions of adorable ankle boot outfits like this one by Shop The Mint, check out some of these tan ankle boot options (3rd photo) that are flat and spacious in the toe box. No, they won’t add inches to your height, BUT they might save you from pain and injury. I think I know which one I’ll choose 🙂

I am wearing Vivobarefoot Fulhams. My Vivo code is ANYAVB for 10% off. Check out this link if you’d like to see more barefoot ankle boot options!

Happy Friday friends!

November 19, 2020

The Groundies Universe | $156 | Leather

Beyoncé got nothing on my flat-footed squat. 💃🏻

So what’s the deal with squats anyways? Besides being a functional movement (as in, if you can do them life is easier), they are a great exercise/stretch that works basically your entire posterior chain at once (hello pelvic floor!).

LOTS of mobility and strength is required to hold a squat, so here is a series of moves I use to keep my squat muscles ready for kitchen dance routines.

Here are a few of the exercises you see in the video linked above:

1. Hamstring stretch – you got this, just make sure you aren’t rounding your low back. Then it becomes a back stretch not a hamstring stretch.

2. Hip hinge and Vertical Shin Squats – these are like mini squats to lubricate the hips and get the glutes firing

3. Sitting on your shins – this is actually a really great one for squat prep. Tucking your toes underneath you is also great, and you can do both of these in normal life when you’re sitting on the floor.

4. Hip 90 90 – putting your legs out at 90 degrees from your hips and then fluidly rotating to the other side is so good for hip mobility!

The best part, is a lot of these can be accomplished without taking extra time to work out! When you bend over, hinge at the hips or mini squat. Get up and down from the floor often. And when you sit on the floor, vary how you sit frequently.

BTW, I would normally do all this barefoot, but my hips were too tired to re-record the video! ALSO, Bey is 👸🏿 and prroooobably could do a flat-footed squat if she wanted to.

For more info on squatting, this blog post from Nutritious Movement called You Don’t Know Squat is a great place to start.

November 20, 2020

The Gaucho Ninja Chukka | $371 | Leather

Lace up boots! #butmakeitbarefoot

Loving this rustic look from Pretty Little Fawn, but no can do on the boots. Thanks to barefoot shoes, no heels no problem! I’ll stay grounded in my barefoot boots, thanks!

The lace up boot style is one of my faves because it is so versatile: masculine, feminine, dressy, casual. Block heel not required! I love mine from Gaucho Ninja because they are not only cute, but also sustainably handmade by a family business (you know I love my small businesses).

Have a great weekend friends!

Share This Post:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit

Tagged:

Subscribe For Weekly Updates

Get notified when new posts are published

You May Also Like:

Whitin Review – Cheap Barefoot Sneakers

Whitin barefoot shoes are some of the cheapest available, but how do they stack up? Check out this review of Whitin’s $40 sneakers to find out if I consider them to be Anya approved as a natural footwear option.

A stunning pair of plum Be Lenka City sneakers with white outsoles and laces.te outsole and white laces.

Be Lenka City Review – Casual Barefoot Sneakers

The Be Lenka City is your classic sneaker but with a foot shaped toe box and zero drop sole. It comes in tons of fun colors and is a much better alternative to mainstream sneaker brands. Read this review for the low-down on the Be Lenka City Barefoot Sneakers.

Comments

3 thoughts on “Fashion But Make It Barefoot – November 2020”

  1. Great articles- and love your style! Thank you so much for your reviews, I’m new to “barefoot’ism”-have gone cold turkey all at once, and my feet are loving their new life at 55💖

  2. I love the barefoot fashion posts! I have loved wearing barefoot shoes since I transitioned a few years ago but I have to admit that I have worn them at home and when exercising but not when dressing up – you’ve opened me up to a new world of embracing barefoot as part of my style and not just a functional requirement. Thank you!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hi. I'm Anya.

Hi. I'm Anya.

I first discovered barefoot shoes after a long history of foot issues. By changing my footwear and strengthening my body I was able to completely transform my life. Anya’s Reviews is my way of sharing with the world that healthy feet are happy feet!

Follow Me

Subscribe for weekly updates

Check out our shop!

Most Popular Posts

Archives
Scroll to Top

join the club

Subscribe For News and Updates

Get weekly notifications for new posts, reviews, shoe lists and barefoot resources!